once more unto the breach

lots of people have been doing wonderful knitting retrospectives and making me feel ill with their amazing productivity in 2011. like a lot of 2011, however,  i’d rather forget it happened and concentrate on what is yet to be achieved. tally ho, onwards and upwards, and all that (in other words, i didnt get much knitting done and i dont want to talk about it).

i have big plans for 2012 however. my plans are underpinned by one fundamental principle: knit only what i want, and in the yarn i most want to use. so i have trawled through my stash this morning and although i have lots of nice stuff, these are the items that are most loudly speaking to me.

i have even made a list, see, trying to match specific yarns with specific patterns.

there are a couple not yet matched which i can be persuaded about, but for the most part, these are patterns and yarns i’ve been wanting to work with for ages, and this is their year.

lets start with the socks. apparently the siren call of madeline tosh sock can no longer be resisted. i’ve used lots of their yarn for shawls etc, now its time to actually make some socks.

so the plans are, from left to right, spud and chloe fine (thats ‘red hot’ not hot pink thank you camera) for thelonius, madtosh composition book grey for (i think) anniversary socks, madtosh tart for wasabi peas (tarty peas im calling them), wollmeise vamp (up the back) for inlay socks and madtosh thunderstorm for i dont know what yet. i’m sure im missing a pattern i know about there, but i cant remember. dont be surprised if they become hederas, because that’s one my favourite and most versatile sock patterns.

i also have boy socks planned,

this gorgeous knitabulous is set to become whitbys for trents bday in june. best get started on them soon then. and of course, i still have to finish unst number two in that yummy koigu.

i really want to make some matching hats, mitts and scarves sets this year, so i’ve pulled out these beauties.

left to right, the sanguin gryphon bugga is destined for probably another early morning beret and some basic long mitts or wrist warmers. the rowan baby alpaca is for fancy gloves or mitts, im thinking maybe veyla with a matching hat (maybe an ishbel?), and the ruby bluesky alpaca silk is for a pigeon hat to match the celes scarf. speaking of which:

i’m working on two scarves right now, although celes (far right in the bluesky alpaca silk ruby) has taken a back seat to stonecrop, (far left) in the beautiful madtosh prairie in thunderstorm (to match the socks!). in the middle is a beautiful skein of sanguine gryphon mithril, the colour is ‘mayhem’ and its actually a lot darker reddish purple than it appears here. this is currently unattached to a pattern, ive gone off the triangular shawl so we will just let that one stew for a bit. the big skein in the middle is wollmeise lace garn in maus ault and that has shetland tea shawl written all over it (i might start this year but it wont get finished). i also have some of this yummy dream in colour smooshy in cashmere (bronzed lake) colour coming to me to be a line break shawl.

and finally, there’s the garments.

im working on two, although the silver bowl project (‘atelier’ in madtosh pashmina ‘vintage frame’) is in hibernation during the hot days, and its too hard to transport. the new red one on the left is two days old, its ‘amiga’ in the now discontinued rowan calmer, colourway garnet. ive never knit with this yarn before and its amazing. im prioritizing this one because its cotton and i will get to wear it sooner. the final skein is probably the nicest yarn i have in my stash, its madtosh merino light in ink. i have lots of it, and it was originally meant to be an austin hoodie, although im quite enamoured of slow line at the moment.

so there you have it. lots to look forward to. as for 2012 as a year, i expect it will be pretty much like 2011. full of stress and frustration and excitement and achievement at work, and the usual joy, love, sorrow and disappointments from people. another year, in other words.

hope it brings you lots of happy knitting time.

k xx

About DrK

researcher, knitter, dog lover View all posts by DrK

20 responses to “once more unto the breach

  • And all I ask is for a tall ship and a star to steer her by. « Missives from Nowhere

    […] for the 2011 introspections, like the ever-inspiring DrK, I would like to leave last year alone. I did much and learnt more, and I may put together something sort of knitting tally for it, but […]

  • yogaknitdra

    So many gorgeous yarns and great mix of patterns. I think 2012 will be dynamic for us all in different ways and it will be great to have so many comforting projects in which to find joy!

  • Shelley

    Whew! You are going to be busy. I’m leaving 2011 right where it is and I’m going to leave that sleeping dog to lie. Welcome to 2012 – it’s going to be an awesome year for you.

    I love the patterns and the colours. They’re all just so rich and beautiful.

  • missfee

    WOW what a collection of yummy scrummy knitable yarn!

    and a plan too

    I’m super impressed

    bring on 2012!!!!!! and your own lane in the pool

  • crafting, with chocolate

    Wow, what an amazing year of knitting planned, I am quite jealous by all that delicious yarn in your stash!

    I think “only knit what you want, in yarn you love” should be the new knitting mantra. Maybe we need t-shirts?

  • DrK

    oh yes! to match the ‘what would nancy do’ and ‘there are no knitting police’ tshirts!!

  • jp

    Wow I am in awe of your plans

    And in love with your yarn

  • Sarah

    What a fabulous set of plans. An unduly harsh critique of the knitting output from 2011 if you ask me but here’s to a fab 2012!

  • kgirlknits

    ooh, there’s some mighty good plans in amongst that lot! With yarn as lovely as that, shouldn’t be too hard to force yourself to knit it, either 😉

    here’s to a GREAT 2012

  • RoseRed

    I LOVE the idea of knitting with the yarns you most want to use! And for being so organised and planning it all out! My problem is that I can’t choose! Either yarn orpatterns – too much choice! (I know – SUCH a first world problem.). Such good choices you have there.

  • Lyn

    Only knit what you want, in yarn you love I love this saying
    You have inspired me to getting more organised starting now so I can complete the 2 UFO in the basket and start some more exciting projects on the needles in yarns that I love
    The first will be Stonecrop in the gorgeous colour of Oxblood, I love madtosh prairie won’t be knitting socks thou just don’t do socks
    Happy 2012 enjoy what ever comes your way

  • gidgetknits

    Oh, lots and lots of plans! I admire people who plan. I’m just a-wingin’ it as usual. But all the pretty colours!

  • faeryfay

    LOVE your stash! Wow! Great plans too!:-)

  • Leonie

    Wow! Some lovely patterns to go with some gorgeous yarns, can’t wait to see them coming to fruition in 2012. You have grand plans afoot and they look good 🙂

  • Nettie

    Wow, I’m very impressed with your plans! I have just returned from another planet that was apparently called xmas and new year, but now that I am back on my own earth (read: in my own home, and with no visitors), I’d like to follow your lead and do some knitting planning for myself.

  • donna lee

    You are so much more organized than I! I just wing it most of the time, finding a pattern I like and then starting it. I never plan ahead like that. Maybe I should……

    Anyway, Happy New Year to you. I hope this one is filled with hope and joy and lots of laughter.

  • Emma

    Seriously impressed with your plans for this year. I like your thinking, only working with yarn you want to work with. You’ve inspired me to go through my stash and have a bit of a cull.

  • Yarna

    I am also impressed with your organisation! What lovely yarns and inspired pattern choices. I can say that about the pattern choices because I have several of those in my mental queue. You have inspired me to get organised, too!

  • 2paw

    Do you know why I have a retrospective? I think it is a way for me to point and say: I was here. Before, I always had a class of happy, smiling and (I hope) better educated children to show for the year. Now I have nothing. Oh dear. That sounds so sad!!! I love that you match your wool and your patterns before the year even really starts. I love your sock wool, and the socks. The peas are nice!! Oh sets of things. You will be very posh. Good luck with all your knitting endeavours!!

Leave a Reply

