late mail

the internet is a wonderful thing. especially on a boring friday afternoon at work, like at around 4pm australian eastern standard time, which is about 8am in say, for example, germany.

oops,  how did that happen? it was a ‘grab bag’ and ‘we’re different lace’ update, which was perfect really, because i dont have any blue wollmeise lace. well, i didnt. i do now.

you might be different little blau, but youre lovely. that same day i also ordered ALL of these.

im a bit of a sucker for ‘sets’. i collect books, i have been told, like trophies. so it makes sense for them to be pretty matching trophies, no? can i just say, these 6 books took 6 days to arrive from the UK. say what you will about the english, but royal mail is wonderful.

less so the combination of New Zealand/Australia Post. how long did these take to get over the ditch shelley? 14 days maybe?

not that im complaining. the shortbreads are here in time for the final on sunday, and the all blacks better win or there will be HELL to pay. the beautiful yarn is ‘knitsch’ sock, the shop of which shelley lives near. there was an update. i got some ‘deep thought’ and ‘heart of glass’.

they are so lovely. reminiscent of koigu, one might say. the heart of glass is my first ever willingly purchased ‘green’ sock yarn. i think i’ll probably make ’embossed leaves’ with it.

also, no sooner did i say something even remotely morose in my last post, than the internet conspired to throw me a curve ball. a friend request from an ‘old flame’ on facebook. we are in contact. Things Might Happen.

ah internet, where would we be without you? (richer and less freaked out probably).

k xx

About DrK

researcher, knitter, dog lover View all posts by DrK

10 responses to “late mail

  • gidgetknits

    Oh, I think I’m in love with all your lovely yarn!

  • RoseRed

    Wow! Your Blau is definitely not bleagh! (gah! That’s the best I could come up with! I’d better stick to my day job!). What lovely mail!

    Not to mention the other from NZ! The green should definitely become embossed leaves! I am sure I may have mentioned that is my all time favourite sock pattern!

  • Shelley

    I still need wollemeise. One day… And yes, that 4-6 days my foot. At least you have the shorts for the big game. 🙂

  • 1funkyknitwit

    I’m lurrv’n your mail 😀

  • LynS

    I can’t think of a better way to disperse Friday afternoon blues (that’s a bit confusing and contradictory, but you know what I mean).

  • donna lee

    That looks like a lovely Friday. It’s 9:30 am here and I am facing a mountain of paperwork. I’d rather be facing your mountain of yarn (and New Possible Thing to Happen). Maybe I should go yarn shopping……ah, the beauty of the internet.

  • 2paw

    Oh, happy Wollemeise blau!! But your green wool from NZ is even nicer, so lovely and green and I clinked through and there is more green loveliness!! It will make perfect leafy socks.

  • faeryfay

    Ohhhh, the wollmeise looks totally delicious! The green NZ wool will make gorgeous embossed socks -can’t wait to see them! Good luck with the old “flame”! 🙂

  • Emma

    Getting parcels in the mail seems much more exciting than buying the same thing at a shopfront I think. There’s always that element of surprise because you never really know when it’s going to turn up…

    That blau is very pretty. Securing such nice yarn is a good way to start the weekend I think.

    Embossed Leaves would look great in green!

  • yogaknitdra

    Such beautiful colours and what a haul of reading!

Leave a Reply

