work life balance?

i really struggle with that concept, balance for a start, but the whole work/life thing. either i dont want to go to work AT ALL or i get totally into it and think about it all the time and spend so much time here other things get neglected. trust me, the latter version happens rarely, but its been a bit like that this week. i had all sorts of plans that have been thwarted by the relentless momentum that is my new project, budgets, workplans, timelines, hiring people, buying equipment, redrafting budgets and timelines and workplans. i have not had much knitting time, and i have mostly been working on the celaeno shawl which should be finished this weekend if i dont run out of yarn first. i havent cast on the sock club nutkins yet because i realised that trent doesnt have a new pair of socks for the upcoming winter. i have been working on these

plain toe ups in regia kaffe fasset self striping, and i will try and get at least one done before i start another pair for myself. interesting that i can be somewhat disciplined in my knitting at the moment but not much anywhere else!

in all the rush that has been this year so far (oh my god its already march), i had managed to let my hair get very long, like, the longest curl down to my waist type long, which is just stupid in our weather. by the way, you know what i discovered was the best product for my hair? being in america. no humidity there folks (at least not in winter), i had lovely soft shiny bouncy curls the whole time i was there. then i come home and its insta-frizz. great. thanks for that. anyway, i finally got it cut last night, and coloured. i cant really get a good photo but this one shows the stripey bits a little,

its still pretty long at the back but lots of layers around the face

and what a grumpy face it is! must be because im at work. but at least its friday. i have two days of not very much at all planned, and i intend to take full advantage.

you?

k xx

About DrK

researcher, knitter, dog lover View all posts by DrK

13 responses to “work life balance?

  • shellauw

    I love your new ‘do! And that is going to be a gorgeous shawl! What a beautiful colour.

    Have a lovely, blobby, weekend.

    And at some point you ladies must tell me exact dates and I will book my tickets… šŸ˜‰

  • RoseRed

    mmmm chocolate caramel hair – that’s enough to chase the grumps away, yes?

    Nice socks for Trent. I particularly like that colourway šŸ˜‰

  • gidgetknits

    Great new look! Now, let’s all move to New York. šŸ™‚

    But oh I know what you mean about work/life. I’m struggling desperately to stop delaying life for work…

  • missfee

    love the hair – and the socks

    I have the same trouble with the work life balance

  • Tam

    Must try some KF when the money comes back in. Love the hair. Had to save and edit the pic to be able to see in on my old screen, but very nice.

    Bet you could do Nutkins in a week! Easy pattern šŸ˜€

  • Bells

    oh the hair is beautiful! So rich and lush!

    I have a pair of regia socks to finish too. Must get on with those.

    I think a blobby weekend of knitting sounds just about perfect. I’m having one next weekend I hope!!

  • jp

    Love the hair. Looks great.
    As for work/life balance – balancing is a difficult thing to achieve. No one can perfectly balance anything for a long period of time. I think work/life balance is a bit silly – how about a happy co-existence with a level of flexibility in either direction as needed. If there was a magic recipe there woudn’t be so many press inches on it.

    Back to knitting! (great socks!)

  • 1funkyknitwit

    Your hair looks lovely and I do envy other peoples curls as mine is the opposite and we always want what we don’t have šŸ˜‰

    Love the socks because I really like that yarn in a cheery colourway !

    Enjoy your weekend, you deserve that šŸ˜€

  • 2paw

    Very gorgeous hair!! I think moving to the US in order to get non-frizzy hair it overkill though!!

  • Sarah

    Oh I’m feeling you on the lack of balance – gah it’s crazy at my work at the moment and I never get to read blogs anymore! Love the grumpy face šŸ™‚ Hope your weekend is a fun one, I’m doing v little too – bliss šŸ™‚

  • Emma

    I really like your hair! Moving down here temporarily might be a cheaper (but maybe not as fun) alternative to NYC, Summer and it’s humidity packed up and left on 1 March.

    Hope you’re having a nice lazy weekend, with no thinking about work!

  • donna lee

    Ah, but we’re coming into the humidity season! My hair looks great all winter and then spring hits and it’s downhill all the way.

    I love your colored stripey bits. They add a flair to your hair.

  • donna lee

    Ah, but we’re coming into the humidity season. My hair is good all winter but come spring, it’s downhill all the way.

    I love your colored stripey bits. It adds flair to your hair!

Leave a Reply

