vuvuzela tweeting

i am happy to report, albeit briefly, that i have, at last left sleeveland. i cast off the second featherweight sleeve last night (phone photo sorry):

and now have only two tiny cuff seams and some ends to sew in, and a light blocking to perform:

i am very happy with it. i made some mods that means it fits me really well, one of my best efforts in that department actually, and its so soft and smooshy i want to wear it right now. but it will be ready to go, and to blog about properly, on the weekend.

it nearly didnt get finished though. last night i was so frustrated with the cuff i nearly hurled it across the room. i knitted the cuffs back and forth rather than in the round because round-garter stitch doesnt look right, but it was still difficult because its only a short cuff, attached to a tube-sleeve, which meant i couldnt actually knit it flat, i still had to magic loop it. the tightness of still-being-attached to the sleeve made the joins stretch and i dropped some stitches, and then i got distracted by the football, and my measurements werent right, but it came good and now its done.

speaking of football. i performed a bit of surgery on my twitter account recently, dropping a heap of people i dont actually know or like, including a lot of politicians journalists and social commentators i had been following. i got sick of their inane one liners during question time, designed purely to make themselves feel clever and not actually tell us anything useful, and then i got really sick of the smugness of ‘who cares about the world cup soccer is a stupid game’ thing. it got me thinking about how that plays out in australia, that there is a perception by the ‘chattering classes’ that if you are into sport you are some kind of bogan, and the reverse, that if you are not, you are an elitist chardonnay sipper. i suspect the reality lies somewhere in the middle, and i think the one journalist i did keep following, latika bourke, has that balance right. she is quite happy to tweet equally about question time and the socceroos, she doesnt apologise for it, and i think this is great.

i am not ashamed to admit i like sport. i was bought up with rugby league, my dad was a souths junior and some of my earliest memories are wearing his red and green jersey and the red and green velvet bunny my grandma made me. i still go for souths, though i would rather watch union these days. its true, i dont like the way it is mythologised and masculinised in the australian context, and i dont like the racism, sexism and boofheadism that prevails in some of it, but those elements dont make it all bad, and liking soccer, rugby union or even rugby league doesnt make me a bogan. hoping that my country does well at the world cup does not make me nationalistic either, in cricket for example i am more than happy to see those smug arrogant gum chewers whacked out of the park by anyone other than england.

really, i think i like watching sport because its fun. i deal with so much heavy stuff at work, i read serious books, and it gets tiresome after a while. sport isnt about life or death (although that game against germany on monday morning felt like it), it can bring people together, it can provide an escape out of poverty and misery unimaginable to those sipping on their chardonnay! so i swapped a heap of high brow twitter people for some low brow sports people, including the very funny @cupfever show on sbs. for the next few months, with state of orgin, rugby union test matches, the world cup, i am going to be one of those annoying tweeters who carps on endlessly about goals, red cards, strange hair cuts and shoe colours, and im just going to enjoy it. i think a bit of light hearted fun in a world that too often takes itself way too seriously is a nice way to get an emotionally bruised and broken-elbowed self through what looks like being a long winter.

and the most important thing about sport? it makes really good background tv to knit to. i could do without the vuvuzelas though…..

kxx

About DrK

researcher, knitter, dog lover View all posts by DrK

20 responses to “vuvuzela tweeting

  • donna lee

    My husband is in a little piece of heaven for the next 6 weeks. He is watching every game he can, although most of them are delayed since he is in work while they’re being played.

    Me? I don’t watch but I listen to him yell at the screen and smile. It’s the only sport he watches and he loves it. In a local paper today, a sports columnist villified the entire sport of soccer and the World Cup. He sounded so ignorant (but I think he’s often ignorant. People in Philadelphia seem to take pride in their ignorance sometimes). I say, enjoy it. Who cares if it’s not curing cancer or cleaning up the BP oil spill, it’s soccer (football)! for crying out loud.

    And btw, I love your sweater. I seriously think that I need one for me.

  • bellsknits

    hooray for the featherweight! Yay! Good work.

    As for the sport stuff, sporting obsession just eludes me. I don’t get it. But I’m happy for others to be into it. As for twitter feeds getting filled with it, I just skim past the tweets I don’t understand. It doesn’t bother me.

  • Knitabulous

    Reading my mind again Kylie? I’m not a sport lover myself, but I know somany good people who are. There are a lot of good things about sport, and there’s nothing wrong with a little opium for the masses..

  • missfee

    love the featherweight – looks AMAZING

    as far as sport goes – I am a lost cause I just don’t get it

    I know about it from various shows I have worked on but that is it – tight shorts, loose shorts, no noses, cauliflower ears, round balls, oval balls how does it all go again?!?!?!!?!?

  • Rose Red

    Go you on the FW! Hurrah!

    I hear you on the sports thing!! I love to watch the cricket, the tennis, the olympics, the tour de france and the world cup (not so much league or union though). I’m not a rabid fan, but I love the skills, the human element, the ability to unite people (sometimes!) and the sheer entertainment value that sport brings. Not to mention its great to knit while watching!

  • Rose Red

    oh and i HATE the horns too!

  • LynS

    What a great post. I’m another avid sports watcher. Personally, I can’t and don’t play any sport (I think I must have about the worst eye/hand coordination it’s possible to have) but I grew up in a family where everyone else played multiple sports and where Saturdays were always spent at the football (rugby league). Sport is an easy way of building connection across people and provides a deep sense of belonging and affiliation for many. Football (soccer) is not one of my favourite sports, but my son-in-law is passionate about it, so I follow the game sufficiently to have sensible conversations with him. I love this time of year – Wimbledon and the Tour de France in particular – great fun.

  • 2paw

    Your cardi does look snuggly and warm. I look forward to its blog baptism!!
    I am not a sport fan, I like the ice skating, a little bit of tennis and proper cricket and diving. I do get tired of all the sport on the radio, I think the ABC should ahve a special Sport station and let me listen to my regular programmes!!!

  • bellsknits

    Oh Cindy I agree with you! Let it all be on one station where those of us who feel alienated by its presence don’t ever have to watch it again!

  • sue

    We always watch sport here on tv as my partner used to play footy and baseball and is a mad sports man watching everything about it when he has time. Even my daughter watches the footy and is always checking the scores! Your new cardigan looks beautiful, perfect for the chilly weather.

  • Tam

    “anyone other than England” lol!

  • gidgetknits

    The featherweight is looking great! As for sport… tennis and the winter olympics for sure, but not a big watcher of sport. I really just don’t get football. That’s okay. A lot of football fans don’t get my interest in musical theatre, either!

  • Olivia

    Lovely work – I’d give a blast on my vuvuzela for you, if I had one. (though I’m troubled that I keep seeing that word was vulva-zela, which is …. evocative).

    About sport, I say live and let live. I sometimes feel a bit un-Australian in that I play more sport than I watch. Every now and then I get really into something – maybe Wimbledon, the olympics (both), AFL here and there, but I’m very fickle. It takes up so much time to follow something properly! I would love for Australia to focus more on participation in sport and less on professional sport. I’m not sure it’s right that people do it as a profession and there’s so much money riding on it. While of course all the Matildas have jobs. And when they won the Asian Cup the other week the story was at the BOTTOM of the SMH soccer section. I seem to be blogging in your comments section, sorry!

  • Anna

    I love the cardi! It looks really comfortable and cozy – perfect.

    I’m not naturally particularly interested in sport, probably because the family I grew up in were very disengaged with the whole scene! I married a sports nut, though, so I’ve now had a very thorough education in cricket, and know more than I otherwise would about soccer and rugby union!

    When we moved to Vic from NSW, the saturation of sports obsession took a while to get used to! Most people who enjoy going to the opera or other arty type things also obsessively follow their chosen football team, and I found that it was necessary to have SOME idea about what happened in the football over the weekend during the footy season or else be completely alienated from everyone I spoke to! It was also very useful to know stuff when I was working in a primary school as a school counsellor, especially when I was talking to boys!

    I must admit though, I’m genuinely excited that the netball is being screened on channel 10. Now that’s a big step forward for really good and interesting to watch sport!!

  • Anne

    Nice cardy, it does look nice and soft. As for the sport, I was into sport but not so much now, can watch a good motorcycle race or V8 car race every now and then if that is sport. Love winter olympics. I went for souths when I was about ten, I had met Eric Sims at a Shellharbour game (my dad was playing) and thought he was nice. That was until a nice young long haired guy (can’t remember his name) was playing for sydney roosters, soon changed, now I usually go for Dragons, not steelers, Dragons.

  • GeekKnitter

    Boofheadism… my new word for the day!

    I love to watch sports. It seems like every couple of years I find another one to be interested in. Motorcycle racing, Formula 1, track and field, hockey, soccer… I like the competition, the intense focus, and the times I can see athletes who take such joy in competing.

  • Sarah

    I’ll overlook the cricket comment to say yay! on the Featherweight and having just knit to the Spain v Switzerland game I certainly agree sport is an ideal knitting companion though my ears are happy not to be listening to the horns now 🙂

  • travellersyarn

    The cardi looks amazing, and I would like to see it modelled.

    I am quite the sports spectator – grew up watching Rugby, love going to a Swans game, and one of my good uni memories was waking up at 4 am for the World Cup final and drinking lots of Baileys in my coffee. I’d fallen down a hill (slipped on frosty Canberra lawn) on the way there, and had grass stains on my jeans, but that didn’t diminish the fun.

  • kgirlknits

    beautiful featherweight – hooray for leaving Sleevland 😉

Leave a Reply

