really, not happy jan

so i have been trying to post all day to give an update on the weekend and on my sock mission, but wordpress has decided that i shall not have full access to its services today. and i had cool photos as well.

but it doesnt really matter, because i shouldnt be sitting at a computer anyway. i managed to fall over a dog on sunday and landed on my left elbow, which is now fractured.

i have a stupid sling and i am not meant to move the arm for 2 weeks. i cant get in and out of my clothes without planning it 6 months in advance. i cant wash my hair properly, because i cant lift my arm above my shoulder, and i certainly cant pull it back in a ponytail, and this is driving me crazy.

i cant drive without putting my own and everyone elses life in danger. i cant reach up to put food in my mouth. i cant play with the dogs, i cant move stuff around, i cant hang the washing out.

i dont like it. no i dont. i tried to be stoic, and i was stoic. i didnt think i was that badly hurt at the time, and got up and kept running. i made light of it the whole way home. then i nearly passed out getting out of the shower yesterday, and took myself off to the dr.

today i dont feel so stoic. i am home alone with no family to fuss over me. it hurts worse today and i dont want to take pain killers because they mess with my head. and wordpress wont work.

but i am about to go sit on the lounge and eat a whole tub of homer hudson chocolate rock and watch season three of dexter.

and its not a total disaster. i can still knit!

but seriously not happy jan.

kxx

About DrK

researcher, knitter, dog lover View all posts by DrK

20 responses to “really, not happy jan

  • bellsknits

    yep. it sucks. You have been stoic. You showed you could do it. Now you should indulge yourself. At least for today, if not more. Enjoy that icecream. xo

  • Rose Red

    Oh, HH chocolate rock! Wish I could be there with you to have a race to see who could eat their tub first!
    Poor lovey xx

  • travellersyarn

    Oh, you have my sympathy. I broke my left arm at the elbow, and it sucked.

    Off to the hairdresser for hair washes – and maybe invest in a stretchy head band? I could figure out a way to get one of those on in a vaguely acceptable way. Things that button down the front, are loose and elastic waisted are much, much easier.

    Is there any painkiller that would work? I found the pain was quite extraordinary.

  • bellsknits

    oh that was excellent advice from Ingrid!

  • missfee

    this is terrible truly terrible

    is there anything I can do?

    go the ice cream go dexter!!!

  • Ailsa

    Can you take nurofen plus, not prescription painkillers?

    I shall pick you up tomorrow and take you out for lunch.

  • Olivia

    Oh that’s nasty. Ouch. So glad you can knit, I hope that and the ice cream cheer you up a bit.

  • shellauw

    Oh hon, that’s horrible! You have comforting thoughts being sent over the ditch for you.

    Hope the ice-cream helps, and things fall into place. I see a support group is already forming. *hugs*

  • jennifer

    This is very sad. And I bet the dog didn’t even apologise.

  • 2paw

    Oh you poor stoic brave thing. Glad you ahve found food and TV to take away the pain….

  • Tam

    I wonder if you have long enough hair to twist it into a bit of a bun, and put a chopstick through. Bet you could manage that with one hand, especially if you leaned the bun against the wall for a sec ;D.

  • Annie

    That is terrible, hope the pain is getting isn’t too bad. I guess if you can knit it isn’t all bad. Thank goodness for ice cream and movies.

  • 1funkyknitwit

    Well I know I shouldn’t be laughing but I’d be lying if I didn’t giggle just a touch as your rant is amusing although I totally get… NOT HAPPY JAN!!

    Get better Kylie and so glad you can at least knit, watch telly & eat ice cream, so your right not all is bad ;D

  • GeekKnitter

    I’m so sorry. Hope you feel better soon.

  • 1funkyknitwit

    Oh I got the amusing but then again my sense of humor at times is a bit off ;D

    Your hairdressers going to love you as you help to pay off her mortgage over the coming weeks/months đŸ˜‰

  • Sue

    i think stoicism is seriously overrated so pleased that you went the HH route. At least you can still knit so all is not lost but I am sorry to hear that you are in pain and can’t do your hair! I would HATE that!

  • Leonie

    Sorry to hear that the dogs got in your way with such disastrous results. Thought you might like to know that Panadol, good old Panadol is actually quite effective at relieving bone pain from fractures. They gave it to my Dad in hospital after he broke one of the bits off a neck bone and compression fractured a lumbar vertebrae. Won’t knock you around as much as some of the stronger stuff and might be worth a try.

    Hope the swelling goes down and the pain subsides in a few days. After dislocating my elbow twice in three months about 2 years ago I definitely understand the pain and inconvenience you are going through.

Leave a Reply

